The ability to void orders has been added. It’s a command added to Options Menu on Orders.
Voiding can be required sometimes but shouldn’t be something that’s done often.
If you are using VOID often you are doing something wrong.
- Voided orders aren’t deleted but almost all records associated with them are.
- Inventory records are deleted.
- Workorders are deleted.
- Billables are deleted.
- The status is changed to VOID and information about the void along with the reason you provide is put in the comments field.
Voiding is permanent and can’t be undone. The voided order isn’t deleted though. A short summary of what is changed by the void is added to the comments.
About the only good reason for voiding an order I can think of is when the customer changes their mind shortly after they sign or there was some fundamental mistake on the order on our part that comes to light shortly after it’s signed.
Voiding is an all-or-nothing action that can involve a lot of other records. If a single one of them is locked by some other process the void will fail and you’ll get a message informing you about the locked record. Read the message and close any running processes that may be holding you up.
Invoices and Payments
Neither invoices nor payments are deleted but the Billables are. This may change invoice totals or leave invoices with no line items (since that’s what the Billables are – the invoice lines). You can delete the invoice simply by opening it and using the delete button there.
Payments are completely unaffected by voiding an order or removing an invoice for that matter. You can open a Payment and re-apply it after you’ve created whatever new invoices you need.